World Record for New Member Kelly Cartwright

New member, Kelly Cartwright (Vic), improved the T42 200m world record for leg amputees to 35.98 (w: -2.4).

Congratualtions, Kelly.

image from Geelong Advertiser

Kelly’s world record time adds a second such accolade to her ever expanding athletics resume after winning the F42 long jump gold at the 2011 IPC Athletics World Championships with a 4.19m world record leap last year.

Seventh overall in today’s combined ambulant event behind winner Stephanie Schweitzer (NSW, 27.76), Cartwright has her sights firmly set on coming home from London a Paralympic champion.

Kelly said: “I’m so happy, it’s a bit unexpected this early in the year, but my training has been fantastic on the track and I am doing everything right away from the track too.

“My coach Tim (Matthews) is such a great support to me, he’s got me to where I am and it will be a big year for both of us. I’m aiming for two gold medals in London, but if I come away with two personal bests then that would be an awesome result.”

Leave a Reply

