My experience at World Masters (Club Vice President: Michael Ryan)

World Masters Athletics Perth 2016. 26th October -6th November.

 

I had never competed at the World Masters so I was very excited to head over to

 

Perth and wear an Australian singlet and join in all the fun.

 

I had entered two races, the 8km cross country at Perry Lakes in the Perth suburb of Floreat and the 5km track race at the Ern Clark Athletic Centre in Cannington.

 

First up was the 8km cross-country held on a warm day on October 26th, my race was at 1pm and the weather was already heating up

 

My warm up routine consisted of finding shade and watching those in the previous race stagger around the course!

 

We then headed to the call room for the start of the race, The national anthem was played and we nervously anticipated the gun, there where competitors from quite a few countries represented Great Britain, Spain, Belgium, Canada, New Zealand to name a few.

 

Bang! The gun went off and I took off like a rocket, checked my watch at the first lap I was under 4mins per km (The race consisted of 4x 2km loops) I needed to conserve energy, needlessly to say I didn’t! By the third lap I could feel my pace dropping and I held on as best I could to finish in 35.42.

 

29th in my age group, not my fastest cross country race but a good experience, the course was dead flat nothing like Bundoora which I quite like.

 

The winner in my age group Australian David Sweeney ran 27.18 a pretty good effort for a 55 year old, he also won the 5km as well.

 

The 5km event was held at the Ern clark athletic track in Cannington, quite a distance from the city but the track was in good condition and apart from some strong winds on the front straight I was once again looking forward to racing with my fellow competitors.

I ran a controlled race to finish in 20.49 not my quickest but something I can improve on this coming summer, the winner in my age group David Sweeney ran 16.43 for the win.

The competition was quite fierce across all age groups, it was inspiring to see so many fast runners still doing good times after the age of 40 years old.

 

My highlight of the day was watching Roberto Busi

From Perth run on his own to take the win in the 40 -45 age group in 14.46!

 

All up it was a great experience that has made me want to train harder to improve my running, the weather and the people were all so very friendly.

 

 

Cheers

Mick Ryan

